Skip to content

Environmental Health & Radiation Safety


The Office of Environmental Health & Radiation Safety (EHRS) promotes health, safety, and environmental protection in teaching, research, healthcare, and administrative activities by providing services, advice, and compliance assistance. 

EHRS manages several compliance and safety committees; The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) which is mandated by NIH to review and approve research that involves recombinant DNA, infectious agents, human and non-human primate materials (including established cell lines), select agents, and human gene transfer studies; The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) which is mandated by the NRC reviews and approves all work involving radiation and is responsible for development and administration of the radiation safety program at the University of Pennsylvania and affiliated institutions; and The Radiation Research Safety Committee (RRSC) and Radioactive Drug Research Committee (RDRC) report to the RSC review all human research protocols involving administration of ionizing radiation to humans solely as a result of participation in a research study.


Maureen OLeary, PhD, MBA, CBSP

Associate Vice Provost for Research, EHRS

Maureen Malachowski

Director of Environmental Health & Safety

Eileen Normoyle

Director of Radiation Safety

Key Contacts

Keith Brown Associate Director Radiation
Marc FeliceAssociate Director X-Ray
Karen KelleyAssociate Director Industrial Hygiene & Lab
Andrew MaksymowychAssociate Director Life Sciences Safety (Biosafety)
Kyle RosatoAssociate Director Environmental
James SillhartAssociate Director Occupational